Thomas Wallace: Lectures and Resources - A collection of website design lectures and resources

About me

Thomas WallaceMy name is Thomas Wallace, and I've been working on the Internet since 1999. In that time, a lot has changed and continues to change in the way we build web sites. I was drawn to the field because it provided a creative outlet for me. I have always enjoyed figuring out how things work and problem solving, and in this field, I draw on those skills on a daily basis. Prior to teaching in this program, I worked for the University as web developer for five years. The culmination of my efforts in that position, was the redesign of the web site. During this process, I realized that there was a real need for standards-based web development, in order for users and developers alike, to realize the true potential of the web. The next logical step was to return to the classroom, and share with others what I have learned.



Carter Sebastian Wallace
Carter & Maddie
I am blessed to have a great family who has provided tons of support and encouragement over the years. My wife Brooke and I have been married for nine years and have two children. Carter Sebastian turned five on August 1, 2011 and Madeline Blair is two years old. I have a sister, Blair, who lives in Little Rock. She loves to travel, skydive, and scuba dive. When she's in town, she's typically tending bar at a Hillcrest wine bar called Ciao Baci.

My father and mother, Tom and Carolyn, live locally as well. My Father is enjoying his fifth year of retirement, while my mother recently joined him after a career with a local law firm. Both are fun loving people who have been excellent parents.

Anyone who knows me would tell you that my dog is a big part of my life. Scout is an Australian / German Shepard pup. She loves to play and help take care of the kids.

The Wallace Family
Carolyn, Tom,
Brooke, Thomas, and Blair

Zack - RIP - MARCH '07


Me and Dad
Hiking in Bavaria
Oktoberfest - 2004
Oktoberfest - 2004
Zugspitze - Highest point in Germany
Zugspitze - Highest point
in Germany
Brugge, Belgium
Brugge, Belgium
Bug Bash
Bug Bash
Most of my hobbies center on my love of traveling and exploring. I have spent about two years abroad in Europe, lugging a backpack around, experiencing as many cultures as possible. I have visited 23 countries in all, and as long as I'm still breathing, I hope to continue to expand the list. Early on I traveled primarily alone, but the past few trips have been with my Father. In 2004, we attended Oktoberfest in Munich, and toured the Wachau wine region in Austria. In the spring of 2006, we made a beer tasting tour of Belgium, Holland, Germany, and Switzerland.

When I'm not traveling I like to spend time working on my home , cooking with friends, and spending time outdoors. In years past, I freelanced as a wilderness guide taking people rock climbing, caving, canoeing and hiking. If you are ever looking for a good weekend getaway in the woods, drop me a line and I'll share with you some of my favorite spots.

Another favorite pastime of mine is playing the guitar. My father brought one home 15 years ago, and I have been playing ever since. I primarily play an acoustic Yamaha DW-4s, but I also have a Gibson Mandolin that I pick around on at times.

Every year Brooke and I host a block party called the Hillcrest Bugbash. It's a great excuse for spending the day out in the sunshine and eating good food.

In the Fall of 2009 our family purchased some land and a log cabin in Jasper, Arkansas. If I am not teaching or building web sites, that is where you will find me.





What I'm Reading

RSS Feed IconView More


  • 1.24.2012
    Structure, Content, Design, Behavior
My Calendar