Michael Carenbauer





































Michael Carenbauer, guitar; Felice Farrell, cello

Program Spring 2002


Canonic Sonata #2
Georg PhilippTelemann (1681-1767)
(arranged Farrell/Carenbauer)


Suite VI for In D, BWV 1012 J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
Gavottes I and II

(Felice Farrell, cello)


Sonata Concertata
Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840)


Rumanische Volkstanze
Bela Bartok (1881-1945)

(arranged Farrell/Carenbauer)


Isaac Albeniz (1860-1909)
(Michael Carenbauer, guitar)


Andaluza, Op. 37#5 (Spanish Dance #5)
Enrique Granados (1867-1916)

(arranged by Konrad Ragossnig)


Histoire du Tango - Night Club 1960
Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)

(arranged Farrell/Carenbauer; thanks to Beau Bledsoe!)


Cellist Felice Magendanz Farrell received her early music training on the piano, violin and cello with her parents in Utica, New York. She continued her musical studies in Rome, Italy with her older sister, Donna Magendanz Guarino. She received her Bachelor and Master Degrees of Music with the Performer¹s Certificate at Indiana University. She was a student and then graduate teaching assistant of Janos Starker. Her first major appointment was with the Minnesota Orchestra as assistant principal cellist. An appointment as solo cellist with the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra followed. She was accepted into the Affiliate Artist Management of New York City and was on the faculty of the Eastman School of Music. In New York, Farrell met her husband and moved to Little Rock, Arkansas. She began a chamber music series at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, taught at the University of Central Arkansas and continues to perform with colleagues. In recent years she has concucted master classes in Bulgaria, Italy, Louisiana State University, Chautauqua Music Festival in New York, and Indian University. Farrel is the cellist with Kapelle Trio, established in 1991 with violinist Kerork Mardirossian. Both Mr. Carenbauer and Ms. Farrell are available for performances and workshops through the Arkansas Arts Council ³Arts on Tour² program.

Tradition and technology happily coexist in the music of guitarist Michael Carenbauer. His repertoire ranges from Bach to contemporary American music. He began playing guitar at age 19 while attending Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine. He has since received a performance degree in Jazz Guitar from Berklee College in Boston, where he studied with jazz great Pat Metheny, and a Masters of Music in Classical Guitar from the University of South Florida. He was appointed to the faculty of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock in 1982, where he founded a guitar program that is recognized as one of the most comprehensive and diverse in the region. He is currently Director of Guitar Studies at UALR and holds the rank of Professor of Music. Michael has performed internationally in Italy, France, Austria, Mexico, Canada, and Hong Kong. His original compositions and arrangements for the guitar and guitar synthesizer were featured at the prestigious Chitarra 98 Festival in Montreal. He is the recipient of numerous grants and awards for music performance, composition, and education, including a Faculty Teaching Excellence Award from the University of Arkansas/Little Rock and a Fellowship for Music Composition from the Arkansas Arts Council. His original composition ³Concerto for Zheng, Guitar and String Quartet² was premiered with the Quapaw Quartet and Chinese zheng soloist Connie Ng. He is Professor of Music and director of Guitar Studies at the University of Arkansas/Little Rock.